*State Mandated Fee ($1.00) for Disability Access & Education Revolving Fund:
On September 19, 2012, Governor Brown signed into law Senate Bill 1186,
adding a state fee of $1.00 to any application or renewal for a business license/permit,
effective January 1, 2013. This fee will provide a funding source for increased education
on disability access and compliance with construction-related accessibility requirements
to facilitate compliance with the federal and state disability laws.
Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and
significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants
with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your legal obligations
and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:
• The Division of the State Architect at www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/home/aspx
• The Department of Rehabilitation at www.rehab.cahwnet.gov.
• The California Commission on Disability Access at http://www.ccda.ca.gov